If you or someone you know has recently received and award for undergraduate research please let us know by emailing us at

408RSS winners Research Day 2014 

The Dr. Harry O’Flanagan Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Research was awarded to Yuan-Hsun Chang, pictured here (l) with Ashwanth Ramesh (r), and Prof Fergal O’Brien (m), for his oral presentation of his project entitled ‘A 3D Environment Influences Osteocyte Function’.


Treistrim HillsTristram Hills, pictured here with Prof. Kevin McGuigan,  Research Day Academic Coordinator, won first prize for his poster presentation of his project entitled ‘A prospective study of the incidence of aspiration and dysphagia occurring in acute stroke patients admitted to Beaumont Hospital’.


RCSI Student Conference wins Irish Healthcare Award

07 November 2013

A team of RCSI students and staff has won Student Project of the Year for the ICHAMS (International Conference for Healthcare and Medical Students) conference at the Irish Healthcare Awards, held in the Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin on Thursday 7th November. Congratulations to all the RCSI students involved!

2013PrizePictured (back row l-r) is Mr. Jeffrey Nafash, Mr. Daniel Creegan, Mr Sami Backley, Ms May Ahn Nguyen; Mr Vincent Healy and Ms Nikita Rane with (front row l-r) Ms Young Hwa Soon, Dr Sarah O’Neill, Molecular & Cellular Therapeutics, Professor Hannah McGee, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, RCSI, Professor Ray Stallings, Director of Research, RCSI, Ms Rebecca Horgan and Ms Layveeniea Anathan.


RCSI Student wins top Undergraduate Award in Medical Sciences

Joseph Sweeney, RCSI BSc in Pharmacy graduate, has been awarded the winning prize in the 2013 Undergraduate Awards Medical JosephSweeneySciences category. Pictured (l-r) is Prof Fergal O’Brien, Professor of Bioengineering and Regenerative Medicine; Joseph; and Dr Orlaith Brennan, Lecturer in Physics. Orlaith and Prof O’Brien supervised Joseph in his research. The Undergraduate Awards are an international academic awards programme that identifies top students across the globe through their innovative undergraduate research. (November 2013)


RSS winners Research Day 2013 

Aynam SaeedThe Dr. Harry O’Flanagan Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Research was awarded to Ayman Saeed, pictured  here with Prof. Anne Hickey,  for his project entitled ‘Effect of synthetic retinoic acid derivatives in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia and Multiple Myeloma cells’.


RSS winners Research Day 2012 

Medical students Aine McCarthy received the Dr. Harry O’Flanagan Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Research  and William Leitch was winner of the Undergraduate Poster Prize at Research Day 2012.